Curriculum Vitae

Curriculum Vitae


Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
Advisor: Prof. Christopher C. Cummins

Dr. rer. nat.

(summa cum laude)

Max-Planck-Institute for Bioinorganic Chemistry (previously MPI for Radiation Chemistry) Mülheim a. d. Ruhr, Germany, Jan. 1998
Advisor: Prof. Karl Wieghardt
Dissertation: “Molecular and Electronic Structure of High-Valent Transition Metal Nitrido Complexes”

Diploma in Chemistry

Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany, May 1995
Advisor: Prof. Karl Wieghardt



Jan. 2006 – present

Professor at FAU Erlangen-Nuremberg (Chair of Inorganic Chemistry II)

Jan. 2001 – 2005

Assistant Professor at UCSD

Oct. 1998 – Oct. 2000

Postdoctoral Fellow, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) at MIT with Prof. Christopher C. Cummins

Feb. 1998 – Oct. 1998

Research Fellowship, Max-Planck-Society

July 1995 – Jan. 1998

Ph.D. Fellowship, Max-Planck-Society

  • Guest Professor at ETH Zürich, 2018
  • L.A. Chugaev Commemorative Medal, Russian Academy of Sciences 2017
  •  Ludwig-Mond Award, Royal Society of Chemistry (UK) 2017
  • Elhuyar-Goldschmidt Award, Royal Society of Chemistry of Spain 2017
  • JSPS Professorhip “Brain Circulation Project” Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan 2015
  • Visiting Professor at the Nagoya Institute fo Technology, Japan 2015
  • Visiting Professor at the University Paul Sabatier, Toulouse, 2012
  • Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC), 2011
  • Dalton Transactions European / African Lectureship Award, 2010
  • Japanese Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) Fellowship, 2010
  • Visiting Professor at the University of Manchester, since 2009
  • Israel Chemical Society, Honorary Member, 2009
  • Alfred P. Sloan Award, 2004/2005
  • Faculty Career Development Award, Academic Senate, 2003
  • Hellman Fellow, Chris & Warren Hellman Young Faculty Award, 2002
  • DFG Postdoctoral Fellowship, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, 1999/2000

  • German Chemical Society (GDCh), since 1995
  • American Chemical Society (ACS), since 1997
  • Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), since 2011
  • Wöhler Vereinigung für Anorganische Chemie
  • Arbeitsgruppe ADUC
  • Fachgruppe Nuklearchemie
  • American Nuclear Society (2001 – 2005)

  • Editor-in-Chief, Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry, COMC-IV
  • Associate Editor, ACS Organometallics, since 2014
  • Speaker of Sonderforschungsbereich 583, DFG, 2006 – 2012
  • Member of the International Advisory Board, “European Journal of Inorganic Chemistry”, 2009 – 2014
  • Member of the International Advisory Board, “Inorganic Chemistry” (American Chemical Society Publications), 2011 – 2013
  • Member of the International Advisory Committee, “Plutonium Futures-The Science Conference 2012”, April 2011
  • Member of the International Editorial Board, “Journal of Coordination Chemistry”, since 2014
  • Member of the International Advisory Board, since 2010, “Actinides 2013”, “Actinides” 2017, “Actinides” 2021
  • Member of the International Advisory Board, Karlsruher Synchrotron “ANKA”, 2008 – 2011
  • Member of the Review Panel, Director’s Review of Chemical Sciences Division Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL), CA, USA, since January 2010
  • Member of the Review Panel, Evaluation Campaign 2011-2014, Commissariat à l’Énergie Atomique (CEA, Grenoble, France), 2011-2014
  • Currently Reviewer for Journals of the American Chemical Society, Royal Society of Chemistry, Science (AAAS), Nature (NPG), Wiley-VCH, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), National Science Foundation (NSF), U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), Alexander von Humboldt Stiftung (AvH), Israel Science Foundation (ISF), Swiss National Science Foundation (SNF), Academy of Finland
  • Volume Editor for Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry-III
    (Volume 2: alkaline and alkaline earth metals, Cu and Zn group)
  • Delegate of the Managing Committee COST Action CM1006 “EUFEN: European f-Element Network”, 2011